Minimalism


Minimalism is not a new concept but yet not many have taken up on the mindset of ‘living with less is the ideal choice’. Personally, materialistic mentality is something that is deeply ingrained, as a status symbol. I was brought up in a family that believes in doing our best and to be successful, whatever that means. And possession of many material things is one of the indicator that we have achieved success. But on the other side of the issue, this greed or desire for materialistic symbolism breeds a mindset for endless need to justify success through material acquisition. In the end, we end up being hoarders of many (and often useless) material items that just take up space at home.

I don’t know why we don’t realise this wicked cycle of need for affirmation for our success and endless buying of things out of want and not needs. Buying such material things will only give brief and fleeting feeling of satisfaction. Once we have in and own it, we just dump if somewhere to be forgotten, while we continue to be distracted by other new ‘bling-bling’ to add to our ‘trash’ collection.

After much self reflection, I am seriously contemplating to pursue minimalism in my life. Although not in the extreme sense, but more in making good judgements on my procurement choices and intensity. I deeply believe in the value of charity, and I also believe minimalism will help me to release most materialistic possession and share with others, who have much less than me but has real need for the items.

Such a decision to go minimal need to be considered carefully and tactfully, especially when it involves changing the lifestyle of oneself and related family members. It will not be an easy feat to convince others to let go of their cherished items. But it’s not about letting go of everything we have. It’s about keeping only those that are most valuable and functional aligned to our daily needs, and not necessary too far future needs.

I am keen to learn more thoughts on minimalism in a family setting. And I hope prospective readers to this post will be able to share their own thoughts and hopes on this matter.

Leave a comment