80s Fashion


1980s-fashion

During the 80s I was a teenager. And that was the time when I experienced my fashion flop trends. Don’t ask me why. It just happened. And I’m still trying to figure out why I dressed the way I did during those times.

The 80s was the era of the tsunami hair styles. All curled and really high wave-like fringes. Hairsprays are the favourite during these times. My own hair was like this, and the over-loaded hairsprays have always given me headaches at the end of the day. But hey, in fashion, no pain no gain!

The dress code in the 80s were like plastics and too colourful for words. Unlike the 70s, the 80s people were more into abstract designs and distorted looking dresses. If you’re finding it hard to visualise what I mean, just think MADONNA or MICHEAL JACKSON in the 1980s. That’s what I mean! Again bright and mis-match of colours was the IN-thang during that time. For some it worked, but for most it was a fashion circus! Also all-type hand gloves were also an importance accessory of that time.

glove

I think the 1980s was a fashion transition period. None of what people were wearing at that time made any sense. It was as if they were on a journey to find what really suit them. But I must say, the 80s was the time when they invented ‘funky’ and ‘wacky’ in fashion. That’s what I think 🙂

Author: apanyangku

...carefree, caring and conscientious...

Leave a Reply

